Back to the ’80s…again!

More out of my own boredom and obsessiveness than anything else, I have decided to return to the incredibly fertile musical period that I wrote about in my earlier post. This time I have turned my attention towards the slightly harder and kinkier end of the ’80s boogie/funk/r&b spectrum, showcasing the all-pervading influence of the era’s two reigning sex-lords: Rick James (for me, probably the single most underrated musical genius of the past 30 years) and a certain Mr. Rogers Nelson (represented here by some of his esteemed associates).

So as not to drown the listener in a relentless torrent of lust and sleaze, I have also included some uplifting anthems by The O’Jays and others. You can listen to my new ’80s mix on Mixcloud and read the tracklisting below.

  1. Rick James – U Bring The Freak Out
  2. The Whispers – It’s A Love Thing
  3. Jesse Johnson – Be Your Man
  4. Willie Hutch – In And Out
  5. Cherrelle – I Didn’t Mean To Turn You On
  6. Apollonia 6 – Sex Shooter
  7. Donna Allen – Serious
  8. The Fatback Band – I Found Lovin’
  9. The O’Jays – Put Our Heads Together

Listen here.

Leave a Reply

