Papineau’s Guide To ASEAN Lands Of Tropical Beauty

Last week brought the sad news that Cambridge’s oldest bookshop, Galloway & Porter, has gone into administration. On the plus side, this meant that I was able to pick up some outstanding bargains at their closing down warehouse sale. One of these was a mint condition 1974 tourist guide to the South East Asian countries known collectively as ASEAN, mine for the princely sum of 75p! Some of the highlights of this fascinating volume are reproduced below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Papineau’s Guide To ASEAN Lands Of Tropical Beauty

  1. LOL… “Get into it”. Yeah, that’s how I like to lounge when I’m flying to Asia. Unfortunately, there’s always someone in the seat next to mine, cramping my style. ;p

    • Haha! Yes, personally I wouldn’t dream of flying to Thailand unless I could recline in my seat like a Roman emperor and have my every whim catered to by a team of “Superbirds”!

  2. Wow! This is quite the find. I love the ridiculously soft-focus reclining figure on the second “Get into it” page.

Leave a Reply

