At the train station

Moving house

At the train station

We’re moving to a new home on Tumblr after many happy years of being hosted at WordPress. You may have already noticed that redirects to our new website.

This blog will stay around – after all, it does contain over five years’ worth of posts – but it won’t be updated from today onwards.

We hope to post more frequently at our new home and give our friends and followers more of a peek into our lives. And, of course, you can always find us on Twitter and Facebook.


7777777: New 7″ coming soon!

WIAIWYA 7" cover and insert

We’re really happy to announce that our next release will be a record for the WIAIWYA label’s 7″ singles club, coming out on 7 April 2013.

just 77 copies of each single is available individually, but subscribers will get all seven 7 inch singles; 14 exclusive tracks by 7 bands, one on each day of the week, and always on the 7th of the month, in hand cut 7 sleeves and in limited editions of 777

Pre-order now on Bandcamp to make sure you get your copy!

Here’s a preview of one of our tracks, Terre des Hommes 1967:

It’s going to be rather special and we can’t wait to see the vinyl, with that marmalade sleeve and amazing papercraft insert, in the flesh.

The Twilight Language of Nigel Kneale book cover

The Twilight Language of Nigel Kneale

The Twilight Language of Nigel Kneale book cover

A few months ago we took part in A Cathode Ray Séance: The Haunted Worlds of Nigel Kneale, a day-long event celebrating the work of the British screenwriter. We contributed a track to the cassette tape that accompanies this book of essays and writings and you can now order copies of The Twilight Language of Nigel Kneale from SEEN. It is exceptionally beautiful.

We hope that our instrumental managed to capture some of the quiet terror that films like The Stone Tape and Quatermass and the Pit inspired in us.

Swedish Adventure!

Luft I Luften poster by Danilo Stankovic

Last weekend, we journeyed to Sweden for the first time, where we were fortunate enough to play at the fantastic event “Luft I Luften”. This was organised by Klubb Kristallen and Get Daun and took place at Malmö’s incredible Moriska Paviljongen.

Also on the bill was our good friend the Time Attendant and the exhilarating Finnish band K-X-P, as well as Benjamin Syra & Nos and a wonderful DJ set from Death And Vanilla/Dunwich Radio‘s Anders and Marleen.

All in all, it was one of our greatest experiences as a band, and we cannot thank enough all the lovely people who made it happen!

Below are some pictures of our performance, from which you can get an idea of just how much effort and inspiration people (other than us) put into staging such a memorable event.

A September mix for Lucky Cat

We were recently asked to contribute a mix to one of our favourite radio shows, Lucky Cat on Resonance 104.4 FM. If you missed the show, you can now listen to it below:

The tracklisting of our mix is as follows:

  1. Hong Kong In The 60s – The Flower Of Quince House
  2. Jane Birkin – L’Aquoiboniste
  3. Lio – Sage Comme Une Image
  4. Charo – Dance A Little Bit Closer
  5. Harry Hosono & The Yellow Magic Band – Paraiso
  6. Gigliola Cinquetti – Quizas, Quizas, Quizas
  7. Ennio Morricone – Samba In Tribunale (from The Cat OST)
  8. Gato Barbieri – Girl In Black: Tango (from Last Tango In Paris OST)
  9. Teresa Teng – 忘記他
  10. Chang Siao Ying – 第二夢
  11. Ho & Duck – [title unknown]
  12. Chang Loo – Da Yu Mang
  13. Liu Yun – Ban Qiao Dui Chang
  14. The Ocean Tango – Stills (excerpt)
  15. Margo Guryan – Timothy Gone
  16. Mai & Yumiko-Chan – Akogare No Machi (from Kiki’s Delivery Service OST)
  17. Dave Grusin – Girl And Tea (from The Yakuza OST)
  18. Hong Kong In The 60s – Banbury Grove

Collision/Detection: New EP featuring “Banbury Grove”

Our latest EP was released on 6 August 2012 and it’s a bit of a special one.

LDWR EP cover

Collision/Detection is the second project from Long Division with Remainders, a collaborative experimental music project. The brief for each artist was to create a four-track EP using audio submitted to a central pool by the other artists. A new EP is being released every six weeks and so it’s been fascinating to hear how the same sounds have been used and interpreted by all the different musicians involved.

Our tracklisting:

  1. The Ungrateful Root
  2. Into The Forest Of Eyes
  3. Banbury Grove
  4. The Clearing

You can hear a couple of them on Soundcloud and YouTube now.