7777777: New 7″ coming soon!

WIAIWYA 7" cover and insert

We’re really happy to announce that our next release will be a record for the WIAIWYA label’s 7″ singles club, coming out on 7 April 2013.

just 77 copies of each single is available individually, but subscribers will get all seven 7 inch singles; 14 exclusive tracks by 7 bands, one on each day of the week, and always on the 7th of the month, in hand cut 7 sleeves and in limited editions of 777

Pre-order now on Bandcamp to make sure you get your copy!

Here’s a preview of one of our tracks, Terre des Hommes 1967:

It’s going to be rather special and we can’t wait to see the vinyl, with that marmalade sleeve and amazing papercraft insert, in the flesh.


It’s The Taking Part That Counts

It's The Taking Part That Counts compilation cover

We were very pleased to contribute a track to this 26-track compilation on WIAIWYA celebrating the 26 Olympic sports. Of course, we plumped for table tennis as our chosen sport!

There are some really super tracks on the compilation and you can score special gold, silver and bronze editions of the double album through WIAIWYA’s Bandcamp. It goes on general release on 28 May 2012. There is also a blog about the compilation here, where you can find further information about the contributing artists and their tracks.

Here’s the tracklisting:

  1. Saint Etienne – Steeplechase
  2. Jeff Mellin – Hit Me!
  3. One Fathom Down – Exodus
  4. Hacia Dos Veranos – The Way Of The Hand And The Foot
  5. The Vatican Cellars – A Palpable Hit
  6. The Leaf Library – Badminton House
  7. Linda Guilala – Morir Ahogada
  8. Flotation Toy Warning – The Buoys Are Back In Town
  9. Fox – Behind Enemy Lines
  10. Town Bike – Tour De Force
  11. Darren Hayman – Bundle
  12. Hawaii Fried Dough – Tumblebee
  13. Hong Kong In The 60s – Let’s Play Table Tennis
  14. White Town – Theme For Olympic Weightlifting
  15. The Sunny Street – Steffi
  16. Alexander’s Festival Hall (feat. Yazuyo Uemura) – Judo (What We’ve Been Playing)
  17. Sool – Handball
  18. Hannah Peel – The Bully
  19. Band À Part – Cascabel
  20. DJ Downfall – Shoot It Shoot It (Hit Me Again)
  21. Monster Bobby (feat. Desmond Tutu) – Stanley Could Turn On A Tiki (A Football Song Of Praise)
  22. MassiveAnneFrank – Transition
  23. Parenthesis… – Synthesised Swimming
  24. Ellis Island Sound – Ergo Squad Box
  25. The Libero – The Regal Drug
  26. High Barnets (feat. The Butterflies of Love) – Danny’s Got A Good Shot

Hong Kong In The 60s Are Walking In The Air

As if our recent free EP and free Special Benny remix weren’t enough, we’re very pleased to bring you one more present, and this time it’s festive.

Following on from last year’s Beach Boys cover, we’ve again been invited by Where It’s At Is Where You Are to contribute to a free xmas release. This time, it’s a full album featuring – among many others – the brilliant Eux Autres, Action Biker, DJ Downfall and Betty and the Werewolves.

We’ve chosen to cover “Walking In The Air”, Howard Blake’s theme to the beautiful 1982 animation The Snowman. I’ve made a little video to accompany the song, too:

You can download the whole compilation in mp3 format right now, and on the 13th December it will also be available as a strictly limited CD. It’s called Christmastime, Approximately, and this is the cover:

Winter Symphony

This year, we were very kindly invited by the excellent WIAIWYA label to contribute a song to their annual free Christmas download EP. We decided to do a cover of “Winter Symphony” by The Beach Boys, a track recorded in the 1970s, but not officially released until it appeared on the 1998 compilation “Beach Boys Ultimate Christmas”.

The EP also features great tracks by top new bands The Last Dinosaur and Oh, Atoms, as well as indiepop legend Gregory Webster. You can download all the mp3s here.

After finishing our recording of “Winter Symphony”, we were so imbued with festive spirit that we also decided to put together a homemade video for the track. All the footage in the video is taken from a super-8 home movie that we found in the Prelinger Archives. We hope you enjoy it. Season’s greetings!